This month’s TBR: September 2020

For the end of winter and beginning of spring in the southern hemisphere (no I am not australian), I have a probably very depressing TBR, to be completely honest. But after reading so much classic stuff and elaborated writing styles, sometimes I want to read bloody murder. Or maybe that’s just me! 😀

For the month of September I have the following three books planned:

  • Starship Troopers, by Robert A. Heinlein: I know there is a cult-classic movie based on this book, and a very dear friend of mine is a huge fan of it, so thanks to him this book is in this list. I can’t remember the details, which is going to make my experience reading this even better!
  • The Harvest of Sorrows, by Robert Conquest: If there is something I never get tired of, is history nonfiction. And if there’s something I never get tired of, is thrash metal. How are they related? Harvester of Sorrow by Metallica is (to some debatably) based upon this true story and I am very intrigued about this part of history in this part of the world. This is a true story of tragedy, dehumanization and famine by the Soviet Communist Party upon the collectivized peasants of Ukraine between 1929 and 1932. This is rather appalling, so I have been mentally preparing myself for it for a long time.
  • The Coffin Dancer by Jeffrey Deaver: This is the second book in the Lincoln Rhyme series, the first being The Bone Collector (having been made into a famous movie with Angelina Jolie and Denzel Washington). I have read the first one and I liked it well enough to want to continue with the story. I don’t know if I will ever finish the series, it’s 14 books long (with some short stories added) but for now I will try to go step by step. Looking forward to some investigation and thrilling suspense.

Continuing with The Animorphs Challenge, September brings the following four books from this series: book 5, The Predator; book 6, The Capture; book 7, The Stranger; and the first book in the Megamorphs series, The Andalite’s Gift. More info on this challenge, past books and a full list in this link.

Do you keep track of the book series that you have started? I feel like if I don’t read them within a short span of time I tend to forget that I have ever started it and it’s a mess. I don’t even remember how many unfinished series I have!

Happy h*ckin reading, ladies and gentlefolk~

Leave a comment